Electric Darling premieres “Breaking Me Down” from upcoming self-titled EP

In Music Stories by Matthew Everettleave a COMMENT

Electric Darling, the local blues/funk/soul rock band featuring frontwoman Yasameen Hoffman-Shahin and former Dirty Guv’nahs Cozmo Holloway and Kevin Hyfantis, is releasing its first EP, titled Electric Darling, on Friday, June 16. Here’s “Breaking Me Down,” the first track they’ve released; it’s a classy smooth rock jam with funk and disco overtones, just oozing with a late-’70s vibe.



We’ve got a profile of the band this week, in which Holloway and Hoffman-Shahin talk about the band’s origins, its sound, and the new EP.

“It’s 2017—sonically, everything’s been done,” Holloway says. “Let’s write something that’s truly us. You just don’t want to try to be something you’re not, so we really dug into that and found a collection of seven songs that we feel is a good representation of this first phase of our voice.”

Electric Darling is playing the Secret City Festival in Oak Ridge on Saturday, June 10, at 6 p.m. The rest of the lineup for the two-day music fest, which starts on Friday, June 9, includes Dr. Dog, the Black Lillies, Cereus Bright, Dave Eggar, Hudson K, Nora Jane Struthers, the Natti Love Joys, the Accidentals,  Teen Spirit, Kathy Hill and the Deltas, and the J-25 Jazz Quartet.



Senior Editor Matthew Everett manages the Knoxville Mercury's arts & entertainment section, including the comprehensive calendar section—Knoxville’s go-to guide for everything worth doing in the area. You can reach Matthew at matthew@knoxmercury.com.

Share this Post